Zoning in the City of Newberry was updated in 2016 and enacted by ordinance in that year. This divides the City into fourteen distinct Zones with the intention of keeping compatible uses together and minimize disruptions between properties. These include four Residential Districts , General Commercial, Neighborhood Commercial, Industrial, core Commercial and others. Each of these is defined in chapter five of the Zoning Ordinance which also lists the activities that are allowed in each Zone. The Zoning Ordinance also defines lot sizes, setbacks, fencing, landscaping, signage and other aspects of what is and is not allowed.

Key chapters that most inquiries involve are: